Skinny Therese

Adventures in Shrinking My Fat Ass

Kirstie Alley’s Big Life

OK, I really like her. She’s funny, she’s smart and she’s talented. After losing weight and gaining it all back, Kirstie is trying her hand at losing it again–this time with millions of viewers there to witness it all on her new reality show, Kirstie Alley’s Big Life, which premiered last night at 10pm Eastern on A & E. She has also recently launched a weight loss company to coincide with her show: Organic Liaison.

I must admit that I was a bit perturbed when she stepped on the scale, after not having weighed herself in a while, only to find that she weighed 230 pounds. She reacted with horror and disgust. This disturbed me a bit because I started out on my weight loss journey at 238 pounds. Part of me wanted to say “Suck it up and get on the treadmill, bitch, things are tough all over!” Furthermore, being fat is not “disgusting” it is just one particular state of being. Some people are fat and some people are thin. It is what it is.

Anyway, the show was OK. A bit of a let down–I expected it to be funnier. Perhaps it will get better.  The best part was watching Kirstie and her stylist, Traci, giggle like teenagers while calling back the hot personal trainer Kirstie had interviewed earlier in the episode to tell him that he got the job. The catharsis that we as viewers get from these shows is that it is nice to see someone who is rich and fabulous struggle with the same problem that we all have: shrinking our fat asses.

I wish Kirstie the best of luck and I’ll stay tuned to see how she does. Although I would like to see her rid herself of some of her fat shame and be a bit more proud of herself and her body.

March 22, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

